Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a powerful and millennia-old practice, and is based on the eight limbs described in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Ashtanga Yoga promotes physical, mental, and spiritual health. Key elements of the practice are the breath, movement, and posture. The practice strengthens, stretches, and cleanses the body, it helps to quiet and focus the mind; it prepares the practitioner for dhyana (meditation) through pratyahara (withdrawal of the mind) and dharana (concentration). The practice is a self-study (svadhyaya) of the body and mind. Through continuous practice the practitioner will gain a deeper, clearer, subtle insight and understanding of the self, affecting all areas of life.

Teaching style

Mysore Style refers to the unique style of yoga practice within Ashtanga Yoga. The student practices on her/his own pace, per her/his capability under the supervision of a teacher. The teacher advises, adjusts, and helps per the individual needs, adding poses to the individual practice, when appropriate. Mysore Style is for all levels of students, from beginner to experienced student.



Led Class is a style of class within Ashtanga Yoga, where the teacher counts the participants through the Vinyasa series. This is only for students who remember the sequence; this practice helps to refine the flow of the practice, aligned with the breath. Practitioners need the permission of the teacher to participate.

Introduction to Ashtanga Yoga: This is a wonderful way to get introduced and learn the basics of a regular Ashtanga Yoga practice and philosophy. The student will sign up for a two-week class, which includes 6 classes. The classes will be held Monday, Wednesday and Thursday and will be 30 – 75 minutes long, depending on the capability of the student. The student will get individual attention and is introduced to the Mysore style practice, unique to Ashtanga Yoga. The start date, a Monday, will be individually picked by the student and teacher. This class can only be purchased at the studio and is limited to first time Ashtanga Yoga student. After the two weeks the student has the option to go right into a monthly unlimited plan for a one-time reduced price, to experience the daily practice of Ashtanga Yoga.

Ladies Holiday

“Ladies Holiday”, women on their menstrual cycle do not practice during the heavy part of their cycle. Traditionally women take a break for one day of the cycle. However, every person is different, so you decide how much time you need to take care of yourself, usually 1-3 days. No practice of mula bandha, uddijana bandha, and inversions during the heavy part of the cycle. Send your energy deliberately down towards the earth, apana – the opposite of drawing it up during practice.

Moon Days

On New Moon and Full Moon days we don’t practice yoga, because the energy level is either lower or higher, caused by the gravity of the moon. The gravity of the moon causes the tides of the oceans. The human body consists of 55 – 60% of water and is as well exposed to the gravitational pull of the moon. During the New Moon the moon is further away and therefore the gravitational pull is decreased. During this time, we feel less energized, maybe sluggish and are faster tiered. This phase is related to the apana vayu, which is responsible for exhalation, elimination, and excretion, the downward movement of energy.

The moon is closest to the earth during the time of the Full Moon and the gravitational pull is stronger. During this time, we feel energized, are more active and alert. The Full Moon is related to the prana vayu, inhalation, stimulation, and absorption, the upward movement of energy.
Because of the described change of energy during New and Full Moon, the chance of injury is higher, but most of all we are physical, mentally and spiritually on a different level, somewhat imbalanced. A yoga practice, especially Ashtanga Yoga, would rather enhance the imbalance, then rectify it.

MOON DAYS 2017

  • Full Moon – Thursday, October 5, 2017, 12:41:56 AM
  • New Moon – Thursday, October 19, 2017, 13:12:38 PM
  • Full Moon – November 3, 2017, 11:24:29 PM
    (honored Saturday, November 4,2017)
  • New Moon – Saturday, November 18, 2017, 05:42:52 AM
  • Full Moon – Sunday, December 3, 2017, 09:48:30 AM
  • New Moon – Monday, December 18, 2017, 12:31:29 AM

MOON DAYS 2018

  • Full Moon – Monday, January 1, 2018, 08:25:29 PM
  • New Moon – Tuesday, January 16, 2018, 08:18:18 PM
  • Full Moon – Wednesday, January 31, 2018, 07:27:46 AM
  • New Moon – February 15, 2018, Thursday, 03:06:51 PM
  • Full Moon – Thursday, March 1, 2018, 06:52:10 PM
  • New Moon – Saturday, March 17, 2018, 07:14:19 AM
  • Full Moon – Saturday, March 31, 2018, 06:37:47 AM
  • New Moon – Sunday, April 15, 2018, 07:59:53 PM
  • Full Moon – Sunday, April 29, 2018, 06:59:14 PM
  • New Moon – Tuesday, May 15, 2018, 05:49:49 AM
  • Full Moon – Tuesday, May 29, 2018, 08:20:48 AM
  • New Moon – Wednesday, June 13, 2018, 01:45:04 PM
  • Full Moon – Wednesday, June 27, 2018, 10:54:35 PM
    (honored Thursday, June 28, 2018)
  • New Moon – Thursday, July 12, 2018, 08:49:35 PM
  • Full Moon – Friday, July 27, 2018, 02:22:19 PM
  • New Moon – Saturday, August 11, 2018, 03:59:07 AM
  • Full Moon – Sunday, August 26, 2018, 05:58:24 AM
  • New Moon – Sunday, September 9, 2018, 12:02:41 PM
  • Full Moon – Monday, September 24, 2018, 08:54:49 PM
  • New Moon – Monday, October 8, 2018, 09:47:50 PM
  • Full Moon – Wednesday, October 24, 2018, 10:47:34 AM
  • New Moon – Wednesday, November 7, 2018, 10:02:52 AM
  • Full Moon – Thursday, November 22, 2018, 11:41:26 PM
    (honored Friday, November 23, 2018)
  • New Moon – Friday, December 7, 2018, 01:21:42 AM
  • Full Moon – December Saturday, 22, 2018, 11:50:27 AM
  • New Moon – January Saturday, 05, 2018, 07:29 PM

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This